New trophy presented to Institute in memory of long-standing member

A new trophy has been presented to Memus & Fern SWI in memory of a long-standing member who was a stalwart of the institute.

Mark Dowie
Thursday, 19th May 2022, 7:00am
New trophy presented to Institute in memory of long-standing member

Ivan Laird visited the SWI’s recent Annual General Meeting with his daughter-in-law Claire to make the donation to commemorate his wife Beth.

In so doing he said that she, as a member for more than 40 years, loved attending the Institute and enjoyed organising functions as well as participating in the competitions.

The trophy, the Beth Laird Memorial Salver for Home Skills, was won for the first time by Lavina Harvey.

Davina Farquharson welcomed all to the meeting at which, to count votes for the new committee, two tellers from Northmuir SWI, Elma Dickens and Ann Findlay, attended.
The minutes from April meeting were read and agreed, as were the minutes from the last AGM in 2019.

Copies of the financial statement were distributed by treasurer Kathleen Melville so that the accounts could be perused. Secretary Jane Butterworth gave her yearly report on the monthly meetings. Davina followed on with hers, stating that the year has been successful, although not without problems as members adjusted after returning from nearly two years of no meetings. A positive was achieving a first in the Federation show co-operative exhibit and a few members also winning individual trophies.

Next year is the branch’s centenary which is much-anticipated. In the meantime, Angus Federation SWI celebrates 100 years this year and names are required for the celebratory afternoon tea in August.
Elma Dickens then presented competition trophies as follows: Memus cup, Ella Grant cup, Fern cup and also Fern plaque – Elsie Nicoll; Mrs Rattray Rose bowl – Lavina Harvey; Fern Shield – Jane Butterworth; Laird Cup (Most points at Federation level) – Mairi Alexander. Loyalty badges and certificates of service were presented to Ella Grant, Kathleen Melville, Elsie Nicoll, and Frances Craig, for membership ranging from 40-71 years.
A decision was reached for the outing to Glamis Castle in June. Members will be contacted with the final arrangements later. A vote of thanks was then expressed to the tellers and Elma Dickens.

Also a special thank you was extended to Ivan Laird and family for providing the new trophy and attending to present it – a lasting tribute to a well-loved and sorely missed member.
Our whist on May 6 achieved seven tables. Davina Farquharson welcomed all and introduced Jane Butterworth as Card Master. Winners - 1 May Hadden, 2 Frances Craig, 3 Edith Mearns and Booby prize to Sandra Boath. Supper was served mid-way and at the end of the whist an extensive raffle drawn. A successful sociable evening which we hope to repeat in November.

This website and its associated newspaper are members of Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO).
© 2024 National World Publishing Ltd.