Mixed fortunes for Montrose

There were differing fortunes for Montrose Tennis Club’s men and women this week.

Tuesday, 7th June 2022, 3:10pm
Mixed fortunes for Montrose

The men's teams hit their stride and put in some excellent performances on the court, taking full points.

Sadly, though, this was tempered with the ladies sides losing three games.

The men's first team points, however, came from a concession as David Lloyd 1 failed to raise a team.

The second team beat David Lloyd 2 away, with the first pair of Brian Wright and Walter Forbes taking four sets while the second pair of Richard Henderson and Simon Rolfe won three.

The third team beat a short-handed Anstruther side by 11-1, reversing the same score away from the first week of Tennis Tayside league play.

Alister Sievewright and Ian Matthews won all three sets they played including one with a 10-8 tiebreak.

Colin Duncan and Bob Brophy also won three sets.

Kevin McGeachy and Chad Neighbor won one of two sets played, taking the total with conceded sets to 11.

The ladies' first team lost against the undefeated Division 1 leaders St Andrews 1 away, with the teenage pair of Orla McLeod, fresh from her first competitive season at Glasgow University, and Jenna Henderson winning two sets.

Wendy Sanger and June Buchan added one set, as did Niamh McGlynn and Daphne Forbes.

The third team lost away against Wormit and Newport 4 by 7-5, with Linda Richardson and Karen Copsey winning three sets and mother and daughter Bel and Florence Forbes winning two.

The young pairing of Caroline Kerr and Sarah Simpson couldn't quite pull out one of several close sets that would have earned a draw for Montrose.

Like so many other communities and groups up an down the country, the club has been celebrating the Queen’s jubilee.

Appropriately the club did this by way of a tournament which was held and enjoyed by club members.

The social tournament was won by Florence Forbes, June Buchan, Jenna Henderson and Orin Forbes.

It was organised by Graeme Walker, the Scotland development coach of the year.

This website and its associated newspaper are members of Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO).
© 2022 National World Publishing Ltd.

Follow us