Kingdom sun shines down on Angus drivers

Martin Joy in his prostock basicMartin Joy in his prostock basic
Martin Joy in his prostock basic
It was a beautiful evening at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday evening resulting in some fast racing in all formulas.

The pits were buzzing with drivers making last minute adjustments to their cars.Peter Watt, from Kirriemuir, was the local driver in the formula IIs where there was plenty of close and exciting racing with two of the races being decided on the last bend.

Watt didn’t figure in the results in either of the heats but brought his car home in eighth place in the final and then tenth in the grand national after losing time after tangling with another car.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In the saloons, the Brechin duo of Barry Russell and Logan Bruce were in action, the latter having his first outing of the season.

In the opening heat, Russell ended up in fourth place and, in heat two, Russell finished in third spot whilst Bruce brought his car home in seventh place.

The final was exciting with Bruce running in the top five early on but it was Russell who was making his presence felt as he moved through the field.

During the closing laps, Russell took the lead but then had to survive a last bend challenge before going on to win with Bruce finishing in eighth place.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In the prostock basics the local drivers were Brechin’s Kielan Ogilvie and Martin Joy from Monifieth and they were racing in a healthy field of cars.

In the opening heat, Ogilvie finished in sixth place but Joy wasn’t classified whilst in heat two the latter ended up in fifth place whilst Ogilvie had to retire.

The final was full of close and exciting dicing with Ogilvie having to settle for sixth place after a strong run through the field whilst Joy ended up in tenth place.

This week’s meeting takes place on Friday night with a 7.00pm start.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

On the bill are the formula IIs, ORCi stock rods and the ORCi ministox.

The bookings for the Unlimited Banger World Cup are progressing and amongst those booked in are the defending champion Jack Overy who is going for his fifth successive title win.

Also booked in are Sid Madgwick and Harry Overy for an event which is sure to excite.

Related topics: