Angus racers play their part in a thrilling night's racing

Angus racers were involved in an exciting evening at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on a dry Saturday night where the fans were treated to some pretty hectic action.

Tuesday, 19th April 2022, 10:52am
Angus racers play their part in a thrilling night's racing

John Paton rolled his prostock before, during the prostock basic final, Aimee Winfield was squeezed into a marker tyre.

In the prostock basics, the local drivers were Keilan Ogilvie, from Brechin, and Martin Joy of Monifieth.

In the opening heat, Ogilvie was forced to retire while Joy brought his car home in eighth place.

Heat two saw Ogilvie end up in fourth spot with Joy not classified.

Their final was an exciting one with both Ogilvie and Joy making inroads through the field.

There was a late race suspension which allowed the field to close up but, not long after the restart, Ogilvie tangled with another car which veered across the track and sent Aimee Winfield’s car crashing into one of the track’s marker tyres.

The result was declared with Ogilvie being placed as the runner up with Joy in third spot.

In the formula IIs, local driver Peter Watt of Kirriemuir is currently sidelined with a blown engine so couldn’t play a part in proceedings.

The heats were won by Gordon Moodie and Euan Millar with Gregor Turner winning the Allan Cuthill Memorial Trophy and Chris Burgoyne winning the grand national.

ORCi stock rod wins went to Craig Tosh and Derek Conner with the latter winning the final.

This Saturday it’s the main unlimited banger meeting in Scotland - the World Cup and there are over 60 drivers booked in to race, plus a reserve list.

Amongst them is Jack Overy who will be looking to chalk up his fifth successive win.

But he will have to look sharp with the likes of Shane Davies and John Jackson amongst the opposition.

The last time a Scottish driver won the World Cup was back in 1997.

Also racing are the junior bangers and saloons with the meeting scheduled to start at the earlier time of

There are still advance booking tickets available.

For more information about the Racewall, and its meetings, please visit

This website and its associated newspaper are members of Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO).
© 2024 National World Publishing Ltd.