A worthwhile trip north for Angus drivers

Rhys Anderson in good form in his ministoxRhys Anderson in good form in his ministox
Rhys Anderson in good form in his ministox
With the first half of the season finished at the Cowdenbeath Racewall a few of the Angus drivers headed up to the Crimond Racewall in the north of Scotland.

Amongst those racing were saloon drivers Barry Russell, Cameron Milne and Johnny Wood, all from Brechin, and they were to the fore in the results.

In heat one Wood was the runner up with Milne third and Russell fourth whilst in heat two Wood won from Russell and Milne.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The final ended with Russell the runner up and followed home by Wood and Milne

Rhys Anderson, also of Brechin, was the local driver in the ORCi ministox and enjoyed a good evening’s racing.

Anderson picked up a third in heat one, was the runner up in the second but dropped to finish in ninth place in the final.

On Sunday Russell won the opening saloon heat with Wood third and Milne fourth and in the Munster’s trophy final Russell went through to win from Milne.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Anderson wasn’t classified in the opening ministox heat but was ninth in the second with Jamie Dawson winning the Munster’s trophy final, Anderson wasn’t classified.

It has been a good first half for some of the Racewall drivers with several titles coming their way.

Amongst those to win titles were Gordon Moodie who went over to Nutts Corner in Northern Ireland and ended up winning the F2 challenge trophy as well as the Irish Open.

Down at King’s Lynn he won the shale People’s trophy. At the Racewall he won the national but was out of luck in the Scottish championship where he ended up as the runner up.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Trevor Harris started the season well and as a result ended up in the red grade - his first time in that grade in a long racing career.

Saloon wise the Scottish drivers have done well with Brechin’s Russell winning the Irish Masters and then heading to Taunton where he won the European Championship.

The British Championship went to Stuart Shevill at the Racewall but at the last meeting prior to thee break Kyle Irvine managed to retain his Scottish championship in a thrilling race that had an explosive finish to it.

David Philp won the British Championship and the Irish o pen.