Brechin City celebrate a season of positivity

Brechin City have held their end-of-season awards following their most recent victory at the weekend.

Tuesday, 12th April 2022, 2:55pm
Brechin City celebrate a season of positivity

City’s penultimate game in the Highland League saw them face no real problems as they dispatched of Fort William 5-1.

The win continued Brechin City’s outstanding recent form and marked the club’s 10th victory in a row in the league.

They conclude their campaign with an away trip to Lossiemouth this weekend and know that, barring some ridiculous scoring, they will end their season in third place.

That will bring the curtain down on a campaign which has saw City get back into a winning groove following their well publicised troubles of the past few seasons.

Following their relegation from League Two and the end of the last campaign, Andy Kirk’s players have lifted the club again despite them falling just short in their attempts to win the league and put themselves in with a chance of an immediate return to the fourth tier.

At the weekend a double from Kieran Inglis, plus goals from Cameron Ross, Michael Paton and Julian Wade saw city return to Glebe Park for the end of season awards night with a spring in their step.

There they were joined by sponsors, staff and the club’s management.
The winners of the awards were as follows:

Players’ player of the year - Jamie Bain.
Bain’s consistency in defence and contribution at the other end of the park were appreciated by his team mates.

Supporters player of the year - Marc Scott.
Home grown winger Scott was is currently second-top goalscorer for City this season with 17 goals.

Clubman of the year - Graeme Youngson.

Youngson, based in Aberdeen to both home and away matches to capture the action for supporters on a voluntary basis.

His pictures are featured each week in the Angus County Press.

Goal of the season - Murray Mackintosh

Mackintosh's goal in the Scottish Cup third round replay against Darvel was selected as the club’s goal of the season.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

This website and its associated newspaper are members of Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO).
© 2022 National World Publishing Ltd.

Follow us