SNP take 13 of 28 seats on Angus

The SNP came out victorious at Thursday’s local council elections, claiming 13 seats on the council.

Morag Kuc
Monday, 9th May 2022, 4:13pm
SNP take 13 of 28 seats on Angus

The Tories and Independents succeeded in getting seven councillors each, while there is also one Labour councillor.

In the Kirriemuir and Dean ward the three successful candidates were Julie Bell (SNP), with 1,321 votes, George Meechan (SNP), who had 574 votes and Ronnie Proctor (Con) with 962 votes. There was a 51.6% turnout.

Three councillors were also elected in Brechin and Edzell, with a 44 % turnout of voters. Taking the seats were Chris Beattie (SNP) with 1,341 votes, Jill Brown Scot (Ind) with 804 votes and Gavin Nicol (Con), who polled 1,271 votes.

Four councillors were elected for Forfar and District with a 44.9 turnout of voters. Taking the seats were Linda Clark (SNP) with 1,270 votes, Lyne Devine (SNP) with 810 votes, Ross Greig (Con) with 1,158 votes and Ian McLaren (Ind) with 869 votes.

In Ward 4, Monifieth and Sidlaw, four councillors were elected with a turnout of 51.5%. Successful candidates were Heather Doran (Lab) with 968 votes, Craig Fotheringham (Con) with 1,670 votes, Lloyd Melville (SNP) with 1,62 votes and Beth Whiteside (SNP) with 1,294 votes.

Carnoustie and District voted in three councillors, with a 48.4 turnout of voters. Taking the seats were Brian Boyed (Ind) with 956 votes, David Cheape (Ind) with 1,034 votes, and Mark McDonald (SNP) with 1,939 votes.

In Arbroath West Letham and Friockheim, there was a turnout of 47% with four councillors elected.

The successful candidates were Serena Cowdy (SNP) with 1,440 votes, David Fairweather (Ind) with 524 votes, Louise Nicol (Con) with 1,663 votes and Martin Shepherd (SNP) with 913 votes.

Three councillors were elected in ward 7, Arbroath East and Lunan. The successful trio were Brend36.9%a Durno (SNP) with 1,085 votes, Lois Speed (Ind) with 1,177 votes and Derek Wann (Con) with 671 votes. The turnout was 36.9%.

There was a 42.7% turnout in Montrose and District, with four councillors elected. They were Kenny Braes (SNP) with 1,090 votes, Billl Duff (SNP) with 894 votes, Iain Gall (Con) with 1,124 votes and Tommy Stewart (Ind) with 732 votes.

This website and its associated newspaper are members of Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO).
© 2022 National World Publishing Ltd.

Follow us