Arbroath Burns Club back for annual supper

After a break due to Covid, the Arbroath Burns Club held its annual Burns Supper at The Meadowbank Inn on Friday (January 20).

Mark Dowie
Tuesday, 24th January 2023, 7:00am
Arbroath Burns Club back for annual supper

The dinner celebrated the 263rd anniversary of the birth of national poet Robert Burns, and the club members were pleased to be back for the occasion, with the Meadowbank filled to capacity with themem and their guests.

Chairman John Hayes started the proceedings by giving the opening address, while grace was said by the Rt Rev Dr Martin Fair.

The Haggis Bearer was chef Forbes Szatan who was piped into the gathering by Michael Thain.

The ‘Address to the Haggis’ was superbly recited by Don Clark.

Special guest for the supper was Mary Crighton who gave ‘The Immortal memory’. The ‘Toast to the Lassies’ was given by Dr Ian Ramsay, while Val Mowatt turned the tables with her ‘Reply from The Lassies’.

‘Holy Willie’s Prayer’ was read by Dr Rusty Smith and Frank Ferguson recited ‘Tam O’ Shanter’.

On fine voice on the evening were singers Jonathan Milne, Alec Whitton, Alan and Val Mowatt, Ian Lamb Senior and Tony Simpson with accompanist Sandy Yule.

A vote of thanks was given by past president Walter Ruark.

This website and its associated newspaper are members of Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO).
© 2023 National World Publishing Ltd.