Nominations open for rural awards

An Angus estate is encouraging rural communities to share success stories from their local areas as the nominations for the Helping it Happen Awards 2023 are launched.

Mark Dowie
Friday, 24th March 2023, 9:56am
Nominations open for rural awards

Estates, farms, rural businesses, individuals, charities and projects can all be nominated for the awards, which focus on the key roles they play in helping the Scottish countryside to thrive.

Now in its seventh year, the annual awards are organised by Scottish Land & Estates and have become one of the leading rural accolades in Scotland.

Stracathro Estates, won the Rural Housing Award lat year for the building of 11 houses all for let to young, local, working families at affordable rents of around 40 per cent less than open market.

Hugh Campbell Adamson, Stracathro Estates chairman, said: "The awards were a great experience for us and not only gave attention to the positive work we do as an estate but also helped raise the profile of Scotland's rural businesses, economies and communities.

"We would encourage others to nominate for the 2023 awards and wish everyone as much success as we have had."

The Helping it Happen Awards 2023 are once again being supported by NatureScot and this year has a revamped set of categories, with two new additions and one expanded category.

Sarah-Jane Laing, Scottish Land & Estates chief executive, said: “Whether it be helping the environment and nature, supporting employment and the local economy or undertaking crucial work across sectors such as farming, housing or education, these awards celebrate the impact that many unsung heroes provide to society.

“Once again we would urge people from all over Scotland to submit their nominations for this year’s awards. We were delighted with the quantity and quality of entries last year and I await this year’s crop of nominations with great anticipation.

"Going by previous years, I know our judging panel will have a difficult task ahead of them when it comes to selecting our finalists.”

The full list of categories and details of how to submit nominations, which can be lodged until June 30, can be found online at

This website and its associated newspaper are members of Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO).
© 2023 National World Publishing Ltd.